NATIONAL ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT: AIR QUALITY ACT 39 OF 2004

(Gazette No. 27318, Notice No. 163. Commencement date: 11 September 2005 – save for sections 21, 22, 36 to 49, 51(1)(e), 51(1)(f), 51(3), 60 and 61 [Government Notice R898, Gazette No. 28016])
(Commencement date of Sections 21, 22, 36 to 49, 51(1)(e), 51(1)(f), 51(3), 60 and 61: 1 April 2010 [Proc. No. 220, Gazette No. 33041])

DECLARATION OF THE HIGHVELD AS PRIORITY AREA IN TERMS OF SECTION 18(1) OF THE NATIONAL ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT: AIR QUALITY ACT, 2004 (ACT NO. 39 of 2004)

Published under Government Notice 1123 in Government Gazette 30518 dated 23 November 2007.

Commencement date: 23 November 2007.

I, Marthinus Christoffel Johannes van Schalkwyk, Minister of Environmental Affairs and Tourism, hereby declares the Highveld as a priority area, hereafter referred to as the Highveld Priority Area, in terms of section 18(1) of the National Environmental Management: Air Quality Act, 2004 (Act No. 39 of 2004).

I believe that the ambient air quality within the Highveld Priority Area exceeds or may exceed ambient air quality standards, alternatively, that a situation exists within the Highveld Priority Area, which is causing or may cause a significant negative impact on air quality in the area, and that the area requires specific air quality management action to rectify the situation.

A description of the boundaries of the Highveld Priority Area is set out in the Schedule hereto.

Signed

MARTHINUS VAN SCHALKWYK
MINISTER OF ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND TOURISM
2007-11-16

SCHEDULE

The Highveld Priority Area is the area illustrated on the map below, which includes the area contained within the boundaries of:

- (i) the Ekurhuleni Metropolitan Municipality in Gauteng Province;
- (ii) Lesedi Local Municipality (Sedibeng) in Gauteng Province;
- (iii) Govan Mbeki Local Municipality (Gert Sibande) in Mpumalanga Province;
- (iv) Dipaleseng Local Municipality (Gert Sibande) in Mpumalanga Province;

- (v) Lekwa Local Municipality (Gert Sibande) in Mpumalanga Province;
- (vi) Msukaligwa Local Municipality (Gert Sibande) in Mpumalanga Province;
- (vii) Pixley ka Seme Local Municipality (Gert Sibande) in Mpumalanga Province;
- (viii) Delmas Local Municipality (Nkangala) in Mpumalanga Province;
- (viiii)[sic] Emalahleni Local Municipality (Nkangala) in Mpumalanga Province; and
- (x) the Steve Tshwete Local Municipality (Nkangala) in the Mpumalanga Province

